Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


  • +27 21 950 2548


Skip Navigation LinksMedia Centre

Sanlam opens entries for 2018 Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism

21 December 2018

Entries have opened for the 2018 Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism which recognise the best financial reporting by journalists practising in Africa, and publishing or broadcasting their work on the continent.

The closing date to submit entries is 28 February 2019 via the Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism website.

The awards are running successfully for the 44th consecutive year, representing the longest running awards dedicated to financial journalism in South Africa. Their objective is to support the development of journalism on the continent.

In 2013, Sanlam introduced the category of The African Growth Story to recognize the significance of business and investment on the continent. Entries should focus on the growth of the continent in terms of investments, infrastructure development, economic progress, and related topics. Stories can reflect a particular country’s perspective but should incorporate a continental outlook. The category is open to journalists who practice in Africa and publish and/or broadcast their work in the continent.

Judges presiding over the Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year Awards will bestow recognition in two broad classes: (1) The Category Awards, and (2) The Special Awards.

The Category Awards are open to journalists working in print, radio, TV and online media. This section recognises the best financial journalists who produced compelling stories between 1 January and 30 December 2018 in the following categories:

  • Business/Companies
  • Economy
  • Financial Markets
  • Consumer Financial Education
  • Africa Growth Story

For the Special Awards, journalists cannot submit any entries. The judges choose the winners through a nomination and debate process.

The special awards are:

  • Best Newcomer
  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year

The awards attract keen interest from journalists around the continent. In 2017, 70 reporters representing 38 media organisations submitted more than 100 entries.

Previous winners of the Sanlam Financial Journalist of the Year Awards include Sikonathi Mantshantsha of Financial Mail (2017), Susan Comrie of amaBhungane (2016) and Rob Rose of Financial Mail (2015). Forbes Africa writers, Ancillar Mangena, Aviwe Mtila and Melitta Ngalonkulu are some of the recent Best Newcomer category winners (2015, 2016 and 2017 respectively).

Previous winners of the African Growth story category include Dominic Omondi of The Standard newspaper in Kenya (2017), Ancillar Mangena of CNBC Africa in South Africa (2016), and Allan Odhiambo of the Business Daily in Kenya (2015).

Detailed information about the eligibility, criteria, and entry submission process for the awards are available at

Sanlam Life Insurance is a licensed financial service provider.
Copyright © Sanlam